Rural Health Network Honors Oswego County Healthcare Workers

Each year in celebration of National Rural Health Day (Nov. 18), the Rural Health Network (RHN) of Oswego County recognizes healthcare providers with the Rural Health Champion Award for their exceptional leadership and their work as advocates for Oswego County health providers and residents.

Rural Health Network Coordinator Leanna Cleveland felt that given COVD-19 and the extraordinary circumstances the community lived through it was important to honor Oswego County’s entire healthcare workforce.

“The COVID-19 pandemic hit the world more than one year and a half ago,” said Oswego County Public Health Director Jiancheng Huang. “Since it started, Oswego County as a community has worked together to mitigate the pandemic’s impact on the community and achieved mitigation goals. The COVID-19 vaccine’s roll out was a game changer. Since last December, all healthcare providers, including retired physicians and nurses, stepped up to promote and administer the vaccines.”

“The Rural Health Network would like to recognize and thank the healthcare workforce and COVID-19 vaccinators in Oswego County for their unwavering dedication to the health and wellbeing of our community,” said Cleveland. “We are proud of our healthcare workforce, especially the COVID-19 vaccinators. We thank them for their tremendous contributions to our community during the pandemic. They are more than deserving of this recognition and we are grateful for dedication to caring for our community and the way they have, and continue to, respond with a tremendous effort to combat the COVID-19 pandemic by showing up to work every day despite everything happening around us.”

Operating under the auspices of Oswego County Opportunities, the Rural Health Network is a consortium of health care providers and human service providers in Oswego County.

Healthcare champions: Oswego County Opportunities Rural Health Network recognizes the entire Oswego County healthcare workforce, especially the vaccinators, for their extraordinary efforts in combating the COVID-19 pandemic. They received the Rural Health Champion Award.